Return to Headlines

CMS magnet schools win MSA National Merit Awards

Twelve magnet schools in Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools received National Merit Awards at the Magnet Schools of America national convention, held in Dallas April 18-22. The awards are given to schools that demonstrate outstanding dedication to academic standards, curricular innovation and diversity.

Magnet schools are public schools that offer specialized curriculums. Students can study topics of interest that include STEM (science, technology, engineering and math), languages and the arts. 

The following CMS magnet schools earned awards:

 Top Magnet Schools of Excellence

  • McClintock Middle School

Merit Schools of Excellence

  • McClintock Middle School

  • Piedmont Middle School

Merit Schools of Distinction

  • Dorothy J. Vaughan Academy of Technology

  • East Mecklenburg High School

  • Idlewild Elementary School

  • Irwin Academic Center

  • North Mecklenburg High School

  • Oaklawn Language Academy

  • Paw Creek Elementary School

  • Rea Farms STEAM Academy

  • South Academy of International Languages

  • South Mecklenburg High School