Principal of the Year

  • Congratulations Dwight Thompson, Principal of the Year

    The principals at Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools are key leaders at the heart of our work to create an innovative, inclusive, student-centered environment that enables all students to reach their full potential.  They bring their experience, skills and passion to their schools every day, and we are grateful for their commitment and dedication.

    We are proud to recognize and congratulate the nine principals nominated for CMS Principal of the Year by their learning communities. The Wells Fargo Principal of the Year Award was introduced in 1984 to recognize the role of the principal in establishing an environment conducive to the pursuit and achievement of academic excellence in North Carolina’s schools.
    Learn more about our 2023-2024 Principal of the Year Dwight Thompson:
    Dwight Thompson

    The nine nominees for CMS Principal of the Year: