• Our grading policy and philosophy has been developed and refined over the years, is research-based, aligned to the CMS Grading Policy, and gives students the opportunity to truly achieve greater success with their learning. Its foundations are heavily grounded in both Montessori as well as traditional pedagogical research.

Grading Scale

  • In 2014, the State Board of Education approved the standard 10-point grading scale. Grades, as well as quality point calculations, will be applied as follows:

    • A 90-10
    • B: 80-89
    • C: 70-79
    • D: 60-69
    • F: ≤ 59

Grade Point Average

  • Grade Point Average (GPA) is computed as follows on a 4.0 scale:

    Quality Points

    • Standard Courses: A=4, B=3, C=2, D=1 and F=0
    • Honors Courses (all core courses): A=4.5, B=3.5, C=2.5, D=1.5 and F=0
    • AP Courses (offered as elective courses): A=5, B=4, C=3, D=2 and F=0
    • Additional quality points are considered in weighted GPA

    GPA Calculation

    • Weighted GPA: calculated by totaling the number of weighted quality points for each class and dividing this number by the total number of credits.
    • Unweighted GPA: calculated by totaling the number of quality points (excluding honors or AP quality points) and dividing by the total number of credits.