Learning Communities

  • Our district has nine learning communities, each led by a learning community superintendent.

    Schools in the learning communities are aligned to increase instructional leadership support evenly throughout the district.

    The structure of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools learning communities is intended to support better high schools and schools that feed into them.  

    Organizing our learning communities in this way allows many of our students to be in the same learning community from kindergarten until graduation from high school. 

    Such stability helps students to achieve at high levels and graduate on time.

    The learning communities are North, South, East, West, Central, Northeast, Northwest, Southeast, and Southwest.

    These learning communities are based on a district-wide commitment to three key beliefs.

    1. Schools are the unit of academic transformation and achievement for our students.
    2. Every CMS employee and every functional area is crucial to maximizing service to our schools.
    3. Academic achievement for our students and improving organizational effectiveness will strengthen service delivery to schools.

    MAP: 2022-2023 CMS Schools by Learning Community


Contact Us

  • Dr. Tangela Williams - North

    Dr. Curtis Carroll - South

    Trish Sexton - East

    Acquanetta Edmond - West

    Dr. Laura Rosenbach - Central

    Dr. Stephen Esposito - Northeast

    Dr. Raymond Barnes - Northwest

    Dr. Kim Schroeder - Southeast

    Nicolette Grant - Southwest